Whenever a horror film states that it is based on a true story it tends to have more of an effect on you as a viewer. Especially when the plot involves the paranormal. Like the film before it The Conjuring 2 follows another case investigated by demonologists Ed and Lorraine Warren portrayed by Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga. The film follows the Warrens as they end their investigation of the Amityville house which leaves Lorraine wanting to take a break upon a vision she experiences. Whilst all this is happening another haunting is beginning on home soil in Enfield, North London. The Hodgson family begin to experience strange things in their home.It effects 11-year-old Janet (Madison Wolfe) the most through her being taunted and possessed by the spirit of a man who lived in the home previously. Over time the entire family begin to be taunted which results in them seeking help via the media. Their calls for help are heard and progress is made in gathering evidence however as things get worse they seek the help of the Church who refuse to help them without further investigation. The Warrens are asked to investigate on the Churches behalf to see if the claims of a haunting are true or just a childish prank. They hesitantly agree to go on the condition that they are only there to observe not wanting to let the family suffer further.

It’s safe to say that the plot of the film has lived up to the expectations of the previous Conjuring with the creepy factor once again being very high. However, there were like all horror films some predictable jump scares which can be seen as good and bad depending on how easily frightened you get as an audience member. Like many films based on true stories there are elements that are dramatized which director James Wan done successfully without turning it visually ‘cheesy’. The Warren cases are truly fascinating and if it is decided to adapt more in to films there is potential for a cult classic series of films or a television series. If you have an interest in the paranormal or just want to be creeped out, then go see this film. I shall end with this; you will never hear Can’t Help Falling in Love by Elvis Presley the same way again.

Watch the trailer below

Published by carpetscenes

Hello, Welcome to CarpetScenes! My name is Sasha Wickenden and I am Journalism Graduate in London. I have been attending premieres and other film events as a fan for three years and I get so much joy from going. What started as a hobby has made me want a career in this industry and has given me the opportunity to meet so many talented actors as a fan to thank them for bringing so much joy to myself and to many others. These events have also given me the opportunity to observe from the fan perspective to how interviews are structured and on occasion I have had the chance to ask a question myself during Q&A's.When I leave University the career goal for me is to be able to write film reviews for a top film magazine such as Empire or a website. I of course would love the opportunity to interview the stars themselves. I started this blog so that I could have a place to share my love of film with the world and to show what I can do. This blog will mainly concentrate on Premieres,Q&A's and reviews however it will cover other one off events such as Comic Con and occasional opinion pieces. To get in contact with me please send an email to: SashaCarpetScenes@gmail.co.uk

Leave a comment